BMV Information and Requirements

 

Common BMV Questions
 
What documents do I need to take to the branch to obtain a learner's permit?
Visit this link to the BMV Documents Needed for a Secure ID:
 
BMV FORMS
 
 
 
 
 
Current GDL rules

Age to acquire Learner Permit:  With Driver Education Enrollment, age 15 years of age.  Without Driver Education, age 16 years of age.

Age to acquire Probationary Driver License:  With Driver Education Enrollment, age 16 years and 90 days.  Without Driver Education, age 16 years and 270 days.

Learner Permit Hold Period:  Regardless of age or enrollment in  Driver Education, all new drivers must hold their learner permit for a minimum of 180 days from issue date of that permit.

Seat Belts:  All occupants MUST wear their seat belts while the vehicle is in motion.  There are NO exceptions regarding vehicles and back seat -vs- front seat passengers.

Passengers: You may not drive with any passengers for 180 days after you obtain your probationary driver’s license, unless one of the following individuals isseated in your vehicles front passenger seat: A certified driver education instructor; an individual with valid driving privileges who is 25 years or older; or your spouse with valid driving privileges who is 21 years or older. During the 180 days after you get your probationary driver’s license you may however, drive with your child, step-child, sibling, step or half sibling or spouse during the hours allowed by law without an accompanying individual. 

Night Driving Restrictions:  Up to 21 - 10pm to 5am for the first 180 days of driving.
If under age 18 and up to age 18 - After first 180 days: Sunday through Thursday, 11pm to 5am the following morning; Saturday and Sunday mornings 1am to 5am
Exceptions:  Lawful employment, school sanctioned activity, religious event, or if accompanied by a licensed driver 25 years of age or older or your spouse with valid driving privileges who is at least 21 years of age.

Age at which Probationary License Period Ends: If you are under the age of 21 when you obtain your Indiana driver's license, your license is considered probationary until you turn 21-years-old.
 
Certified Driving Hours:   50 hours of supervised driving practice is required, 10 of which must be at night.
Completed with either a certified driving instructor, a certified rehabilitation specialist, a licensed driver with valid driving privileges who is at least 25 years old, and related by blood, marriage or legal status, or a spouse who is at least 21 years old.
A Completed "Log of  Supervised Driving Practice - State Form 54706" must be submitted at the time of application for a Driver's License.

Current as of 07/01/2015

 
  • Drive Zone - Driving School and Driver Education - Indianapolis, Indiana Facebook
  • Drive Zone - Driving School and Driver Education - Indianapolis, Indiana Twitter

317-602-8497

Drive Zone - Driving School and Driver Education - Indianapolis, Indiana

  • Drive Zone - Driving School and Driver Education - Indianapolis, Indiana © 2015
  • All Rights Reserved.
an imavex website